“Taz”…

When I was commissioned to make a pipe intended as a gift for a guy with the nickname, “Taz,” I knew exactly what I was in for.  A branch away from my typical subject matter, Taz is of the classic Looney Toons character, complete with the churning whirlwind.  Because of the restraints of the medium of briar, I had to go for a more conservative facial expression, and not the typical arm waving and tongue flapping pose Taz is usually striking.  Turned out well, regardless, in my opinion.  The pipe is left a little scuffed, signature of the destructive character, and the whole pipe curves and bends as if in motion.  Due to the imminent arrival of my first child, and spending the past few weeks helping my wife put together a suitable nursery, this pipe took me longer than I normally like to take on a project, but it feels good to get this finished and off my bench in anticipation of the next project… which will presumably be after the dust settles from this baby broo ha ha.

Leave a Reply

