Africa redux…

Of the pipes I’ve made the original Africa has stood as one of my favorites.  It was created as a gift for my brother-in-law who is planning on working in the vast humanitarian field present on that continent, and it also reminds me of my own time working in the Sudan.  This redux of the Africa pipe commemorates that as well, but this time it is for a close friend with whom I worked in Darfur.  He is getting married in a few weeks, and this pipe is a gift to celebrate our friendship and congratulate him and his new bride… although I doubt she’ll smoke it.  Much love, my friend…

The stummel is briar, and although the grain is beautiful, there are a few blemishes… fitting, though, for a pipe of Africa.  The stem is maple, as well as the stand.

Leave a Reply

