Roots Freehand

Loosely based on my Fuimus pipe, this pipe takes on the elements of my Roots pipe with the fully carved roots sprouting from the stem and wrapping around the bowl.  Like Fuimus this pipe stands on its own for ease of display, but it fits in the hand quite nicely, allowing a comfortable smoke.  Per request, I tried to make the roots a bit more gnarly on this pipe, and I borrowed some of my improvements to my carving technique that I gained while working on Treebeard.  Some of the roots appear naturally broken, or weather beaten, and while working on them I got the idea to look into incorporating the appearance and feel of driftwood for future pipes.  While you’re here check out my entire pipe portfolio… The Pipes

Leave a Reply

