The Bruce Redux with Stand…

This order is my first international order and was commissioned as a gift by a very pleasant lady out of Sydney, Australia.  It is a remake of one of my earlier pipes, and is one of my favorite Lord of the Rings themed pipes I’ve made so far.  The inscription around the rim is the One Ring inscription.  I was also commissioned to make a stand for it, and I’ve been wanting to carve a roots themed base for a long time, so this worked out well as an opportunity.  The stand is carved from black walnut, and the wood was actually taken from a large branch that fell out of a black walnut tree in my backyard.  It was quite a thrill to mill it down into usable pieces and then carve the stand for this great pipe.

Leave a Reply

