Gandalf Replica…

This is a birthday present for my brother-in-law.  I wanted to try and duplicate the pipe that Gandalf smoked in the Lord of the Rings.  I wasn’t able to match the color perfectly, but it is close enough.  It has a briar bowl, and a poplar stem.  This is my first attempt at making a wooden stem, and I enjoyed the process.  I’m not as pleased with the way poplar takes on stain, so the next time I make a wooden stem I’m going to use another type of hardwood. It does have a ‘worn’ look, which Gandalf’s seems to have.

It isn’t a perfect duplicate, but there aren’t a whole lot of reference images online that provide good enough perspective.  I’m pleased with it overall.

final_12

final_22

final_32

final_42

8 thoughts on “Gandalf Replica…

  1. I like the color and the peculiar grain on the bowl. Poplar stem looks very nice; simple design, classic lines, elegant execution. Very nice job.

  2. I really enjoy your version of the Gandalf pipe….how much for such a pipe?

    Cheers,

  3. Amazing work, Boone. I might look into something special for Jon sometime…he just recently switched from cigars to pipes and boy, am I glad! 🙂

  4. Oops! Just went back to the tope of the page and realized Jonathan Drake is the designer here? Is it a friend of yours. I’m interested…

Leave a Reply

